The Interpreter’s house 4: Hashtag research

“A hashtag is a type of label or metadata tag used on social network and microblogging services which makes it easier for users to find messages with a specific theme or content.”(Wikipedia)

mumbai1

I am really new to do research by using hashtags. I have always typed my topic or anything I want to research in the Google search bar. In order to find new trends which might relate to my topics I used Google+. The hashtags on Google+ reflect current trend and fashion which helped me to find some new information about Mumbai. I just typed in Mumbai and then a series of relevant information of Mumbai had been revealed on the screen. I clicked on the #Bollywood in the search box, a great deal of pictures and texts were on my screen.

new

I will use hashtags to promote my digital project and market it as well. In addition, I think this is a good way to engage with audience to collect feedback and comments. One thing I have realized is that we have to update hashtags daily because new hashtags are in the top, otherwise, the hashtags we create will be ignored.

mumbai21 d

Leave a Reply

