PIM – sketch 12 ‘Mission Impossible’

I did this sketch when I was in Dockland with I boyfriend. I took the selfie stick that day in order to take pictures. However, it helps me a lot than I expected. That day is my birthday. I made up myself and was going to eat seafood buffet in Dockland. The Vic Harbour was so beautiful. I really really wanted to take some picture for the scene. I happily ran and suddenly came up an idea. Running and shooting proceed simultaneously. I was shy in frame so I asked my boyfriend to do that for me. The mobile phone captured the amazing sunset. This was again selfie stick assist my mobile phone to finish recording in a low angle but this time we tried running during the process. This is an impossible mission for camera obviously. All my understanding of portability is mission impossible. I mean mobile phone can finish some missions that camera can’t. This light and handy mobile phone can cross a narrow space, can finish a shooting in minutes, can be put in a small pocket.

PIM – sketch 11 ‘Hello, taxi!’

I shot this video when I was taking a taxi. This is a little bit same to the one I  shot in the city circle. The taxi takes people to a place in a short time. This is the time we went back to the uni and returned the gear. I remember that day morning. I with my group member were helping our tutor shooting a interview as a warm up for our own project. We were required to book all the gear and bring it to the place we would take the interview. The place is not far from the uni but we spent at least 30 minutes to walk there. Just 4 girls took a Dedo, camera, audio and tripod! The gear is too heavy that we had to stop and had rests during the way. After interviewing, we planned to call a taxi. Transportation is the best innovation in the world I think. It helps people taking heavy stuffs from a place to another place. It delivers people, also makes the heavy stuffs more portable. I was so enjoy the trip in the taxi. My hands were free to shoot the portable moment. Yes, I had a camera just lying in the trunk but I think there is no more space for me to use a big guy shooting and turn round.

PIM – Sketch 10 ‘Marriage Equality’

I recorded this video that was happened urgently. Maybe it is not urgent for other people. That day I was finished my Storytelling, Genre and Medium intensive morning class. I wanted to have some food at that time. I got out of the Building 80 and found a noisy sound coming from state library that place. Well, I was just considering to take some footage in a busy place as I did before in sketch 4. That’s a campaign for Gay marriage rights maybe. I couldn’t stay there for long because I have to get some food and go back to the intensive. The time is quite limited for me but I want that video. It also can be used for my another course because we are doing a LGBTI interview in group. That could be my personal library. I just took out my iPhone and shot it. I have got 4 video clips just in 10 minutes. I have to say mobile phone is portable when I meet something suddenly and I have no time to set up. Meanwhile, when I am busy that I have no much time, mobile phone is the best solution for shooting something I want. It just lying in my pocket.