Vanity Fair 5: VOIP – A convenient way to stay close with friends.

As an international student here. I have to admit Skype is a good way to stay close with my Chinese friends and family. I can run a group video call with my mom and dad. It’s cheaper than Vodafone as well. Skype allows 25 people to make a video call at a time. I think this advantage is beneficial to some companies to hold an emergency meeting. I tried the voice call and video call with my digital story group member. Aliee and I shared the files about the assignment’s idea of illusion of life to each other. We are happy with this face to face conversation that we are in a different place. This application helps us to improve the efficiency of sharing ideas. It’s time-saving and money-saving because we do not need to go outside and sit in a cafe. But one thing I have to point out is the instability of Skype.Sometimes the sound I heard was spotty and my screen flickered on and off, like an old fashion television with a black and white picture. LOL

Melbourne Noir – Cigarettes

Introduction: Pressure comes from everywhere, assignments, jobs, children and so on.  Many people relax themselves by smoking.  Cigarette smoking has been associated with lung cancer which killed many people in the world. Governments raised taxes of tobacco to encourage people to give up smoking. But…

Background:  Kelvin is an artist who comes from Asia.

He become addicted to cigarettes.

IMG_2132

But he is very poor that he can not afford a new packet of cigarettes.

He picked up a cigarette butt.

IMG_2131

 He pulled out a gold-plated lighter and lighted the cigarette butt.

The lighter is the only valuable thing that his father gave him.

IMG_2133

So he laid the lighter down on the table carefully.

IMG_2135

Keep working.

IMG_2134