Prompt – Crew Roles

I still remember the first time I watched the cast and the crew list at the end of the movie carefully. It was long and boring, but I had nothing to do except keep my eyes on the screen and enjoy the background music. Only a few of the crews will be known by audiences, including the directors, the actors and actresses, but there are still hundreds, even thousands of people working on just one production for years to present the fantastic two hours in cinemas.Then I realized what the huge production a movie is as the crew roles in that paper sheet.

And of course, I want to be one of them. There are so many different departments in a film making crew, and each department also has different key roles. For example, I am the 1st AD in our practice group. When I heard this word from Jeremy, I was confused because there are so many directors, the director, the 1st AD and the 2nd AD. What’s that? What’s the difference? The duty of different roles excited my curiosity. Jeremy explain the jobs of 1st AD and 2nd AD to me. It is very important to arrange yourself into the correct position so that you can do what you are good at and make a great contribution to your group. If you want to be a director, you shall know that a good director is broadly knowledgeable and possessed of a lively, inquiring mind and so on. “Developing a Crew” shows us the requirements of every role in film making, such as script supervisor, producer, director of photography and sound recorder.

For now, as we’re all students, we cannot make our crew so skillful and professional. That’s fine because a low-budget film crew is also small, perhaps 6 to 10 persons take our practice group for example. However in our shooting practice, we failed to notice that the camera does not work. This is my mistake because this is one part of my job. We wasted approximately 50 minutes on resetting the camera again and again. Maybe we are lack of practice and experience, but we’re not lack of the love of our work. Problems always allow us to analysis failure and avoid the same mistake next time.

(377 words)

Leave a comment